Howto: Deus Ex: Human Revolution in Ubuntu/Linux

07Jan12

I just bought Deus Ex: Human Revolution, and if you did too, or are contemplating it, don’t let the bad rating on WineHQ scare you off – it runs near perfectly.
Now, the in-game tutorials are a bit wonky, but if you can live without those (I know I didn’t have much of a problem without them), here’s how you can install and run DE:HR in Ubuntu/Linux.

You are going to need Vineyard, so install that first if you haven’t already, also we are going to use the terminal a bit, but don’t worry, it’s not scary, just quicker.

First off, let’s install the game.

Do whatever you would normally do; run the installer from the DVD or download it from Steam – just make sure you do it in a new prefix in Vineyard.

Secondly, install a custom version of Wine (with rawinput2 patch).

We’re going to use one provided by PlayOnLinux, so if you have PlayOnLinux installed, just install Wine 1.3.34 rawinput2 from there, otherwise, either go to http://www.playonlinux.com/wine/binaries/linux-x86/, download the one called PlayOnLinux-wine-1.3.34-rawinput2-linux-x86.pol, rename it to have a .tar.bz2 ending and then extract from it the folder called “wineversion/1.3.34-rawinput2” to $HOME/.local/share/wineversions/1.3.34-rawinput2or run the following command:

mkdir $HOME/.local/share/wineversions && wget -q -O - 'http://www.playonlinux.com/wine/binaries/linux-x86/PlayOnLinux-wine-1.3.34-rawinput2-linux-x86.pol' | tar --wildcards --transform 's/wineversion\///' --bzip2 -xvf - -C $HOME/.local/share/wineversions/ 'wineversion/*'

Setup Vineyard to use it

Now we need to edit the prefix configuration so Vineyard knows to run this version of Wine, so if you know where that directory is, just go and open the file wrapper.cfg, otherwise open Vineyard Preferences, select the prefix and under “Tools“, click “Open Main Drive” and then navigate one directory up, there’s your wrapper.cfg.

Add the following lines to this file:
ww_wine="$HOME/.local/share/wineversions/1.3.34-rawinput2/bin/wine"
ww_wineloader="$HOME/.local/share/wineversions/1.3.34-rawinput2/bin/wine"
ww_wineserver="$HOME/.local/share/wineversions/1.3.34-rawinput2/bin/wineserver"
ww_winedllpath="$HOME/.local/share/wineversions/1.3.34-rawinput2/lib/wine"

Or, if you installed the Wine version through PlayOnLinux:
ww_wine="$HOME/.PlayOnLinux/wine/linux-x86/1.3.34-rawinput2/bin/wine"
ww_wineloader="$HOME/.PlayOnLinux/wine/linux-x86/1.3.34-rawinput2/bin/wine"
ww_wineserver="$HOME/.PlayOnLinux/wine/linux-x86/1.3.34-rawinput2/bin/wineserver"
ww_winedllpath="$HOME/.PlayOnLinux/wine/linux-x86/1.3.34-rawinput2/lib/wine"

Done! (or do you have sound?)

Now you actually might be able to run Deus Ex: Human Revolution just fine! For me though, I needed to go to Vineyard Preferences again and make sure the Deus Ex: Human Revolution launcher had “Disable PulseAudio whilst running” checked on, and then it was smooth sailing.

Hope this little guide was helpful, comments are very welcome.

30 Responses to “Howto: Deus Ex: Human Revolution in Ubuntu/Linux”

  1. 1 raghavendra

    thank ya:)now I dont need to pull my hair to enjoy this game in linux..:)

  2. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this site. It’s simple,
    yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal. I must say you’ve done a awesome job with
    this. Additionally, the blog loads super fast for
    me on Opera. Superb Blog!

  3. 5 Marcin

    Hi, did you experienced problems with gameplay? I was happy to see the game running at least as good as on Windows, however shortly after starting first mission I faced problems with takedown cinematics. Whenever I try to silently take down any enemy with ‘Q’ button, game freezes. I can go to menus, changes settings or exit game, but when I resume, gameplay is still frozen. I’m playing Missing Link DLC via Steam.

    • 6 Christian Dannie Storgaard

      I haven’t had any real issues apart from the introduction videos. The only issues I occasionally have are sound drops under PulseAudio and input lag when using a wireless mouse and keyboard. It’s probably not related, but what video card do you have?

  4. 7 Marcin

    Thanks for reply.
    I have GF 8800 GTS with 512 megs of RAM. Hard to say if it could be related to graphic card drivers. However, problem no longer reproduces and game works like a charm. At least in short session, since I had no time for longer play.
    I suspect that some Wine tweaks and settings were effectively used after restarting it. I should check this before asking questions…..
    Thanks again.

  5. 8 Sublation

    I have a GTX 560Ti. The game loads but has a ton of graphical errors.

    Pretty unplayable for me.

    • 9 Christian Dannie Storgaard

      I’ve had a few issues with some later versions of Wine as well, but I got it running again.

      Try editing the following values in the registration database (in Vineyard, you can open that through the Tools page > Registry Editor) under HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Wine\Direct3D (or HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Wine\AppDefaults\dxhrml.exe\Direct3D if you have other games installed in the prefix):

      AlwaysOffScreen: “disabled” or “enabled” (I have “enabled”)
      StrictDrawOrdering: “disabled” or “enabled” (I have “enabled”)
      UseGLSL: “disabled” or “enabled” (I have “disabled”)

      I hope this helps.

      • 10 Sublation

        I don’t have that registry location.

      • 11 Sublation

        It goes to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Wine\ but no direct3D.

      • 12 Sublation

        After purging and starting over I’m running onto the same issues. I can’t start the regedit with the wrapper.cfg edited but here’s what I’m seeing.

      • 13 Christian Dannie Storgaard

        You can create it yourself. It’s not a default location in the registry, but a place to set custom settings. Just select the Wine location, right click and select “New > Key” and name it Direct3D; then go into that and create the three “String Values” with the value set as mentioned above.

      • 14 Sublation

        Sweet. Everything is working now. Thanks for your help! I’m super dumb when it comes to Windows type stuff. :D

      • 15 Sublation

        forcing mouse warping in the registry does not correct the inability to turn 360 degrees.

        Any ideas?

      • 16 Sublation

        playing in window mode instead of fullscreen solves this mouse issue.

        That’s good enough for me.

      • 17 Christian Dannie Storgaard

        In Vineyard/Wine Preferences, on the Device page, under Graphics, try setting “Allow DirectX programs to capture the mouse” to on and “DirectInput programs can warp the mouse pointer” to “Yes”. That works for me. Glad to hear everything else is working :)

      • 18 Sublation

        Unfortunately, changing these settings did not change the mouse issue for me.

        Even trying to force mouse warping doesn’t do it. But no matter. Windowed 1920×1080 is just as good as full screen imo.

        Thanks for getting me up and running.

      • 19 Sublation

        Got a new question. My wifes computer as a GTX460 in it.

        Her deus ex will only run with UseGLSL enabled. If it is disabled, it gives a direct3d error on launch and will not load.

        However, with it enabled everything looks great but runs incredibly slow.

        Any ideas?

      • 20 Christian Dannie Storgaard

        I’m afraid I don’t have any magic tips for that situation. I recently upgraded my own graphics card with one of the reasons being exactly the problem you’re having. Maybe try changing the usual in-game graphic setting to something lower. If that doesn’t help at all, trying a lighter desktop environment – like XFCE or similar – might help.
        Good luck!

      • 21 Sublation

        I got the graphics issue fixed on my wifes computer by rolling back to an earlier driver for her video card.

        So everything runs smoothly except the program does not register mouse clicks.

        The cursor movement occurs on the main menu but clicking does nothing.
        Any ideas?

      • 22 Christian Dannie Storgaard

        I haven’t experienced that one, so no, I’m afraid I can’t think of a fix. Maybe trying out the different mouse settings that are available in Wine (the Wine Wiki should contain some useful pointers), other than that, maybe try installing DirectInput: open a terminal in the prefix (Vineyard Preferences -> Tools -> Open a Terminal in this Configuration) and run “winetricks dinput9″ – it’s a long shot, but maybe.

    • 23 Sublation.

      Bah, I spoke too soon. The graphics are all taken care of but now have control issues. Mouselook only turns me so far and then stops. Its like it hits a wall and I can turn left and right within that wall but cannot spin all the way around.

  6. 24 Sublation

    I have reinstalled direct3d still no entry. I think I’m just gonna purge everything and start over.

  7. 25 Sublation

    Btw, I dig all your Industrial Music on your other blog.

    • 26 Christian Dannie Storgaard

      Thanks! Out of curiosity, I get that you mean Tether, but which other blog specifically?

      • 27 Sublation

        The blog located here: http://cybolic.me

        And specifically did like the untied stuff. It was kind of like Industrial dark ambient. Sort of reminded me of the music they had on the game Descent 2.

      • 28 Christian Dannie Storgaard

        Oh, a comparison to Descent 2! That album is full of artists I have the utmost respect for, so is quite the compliment! Thanks!

        I should probably clean up those pages and links, as I see that it’s not even mentioned that the full untied album is on Jamendo. Thanks for reminding me.

        Funny side note is that all that music is produced using Wine on Linux as well, so it’s not completely irrelevant to this post ;)

      • 29 Sublation

        I dabble in music creation too. However, the breakout box for Creative Elite Pro doesn’t work in linux, so unfortunately I can’t hook my MicroKorg up. I used it as a midi controller a lot. But I’m one of those fruity loops noobs that makes his loops and then splices them together in Sony Acid.

        Its really one of the only times I ever boot to windows. Of course Creative Labs is a punk about drivers. Even their windows drivers for the elite pro had issues for Vista/Win7. They claimed that it couldn’t be fixed until some guy named Daniel K came along and proved them wrong by releasing an edited driver set that corrected the issues. Of course they sued him for that….

        Would be nice to find a card that worked in linux that also has midi in/out ports on it.

      • 30 Christian Dannie Storgaard

        I currently use the audio interface that’s built into the Blue Yeti Pro microphone (perfect Linux support btw.), since I only record vocals these days – when I need MIDI I have one of those $10 no-name MIDI-only USB interfaces, which works perfectly in Linux.
        I’ve been considering getting one of the Focusrite Saffire interfaces though, since the producer claims to support Linux, but I haven’t needed it yet.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

